The Petroleum Council


As set forth in the Petroleum Law, the Minister of Energy appoints an advisory council consisting of fifteen members, at least seven of whom are public representatives. Council members are appointed for three years, with optional re-appointment. A Council chairman is appointed by the Minister of Energy. The Petroleum Council should convene at least four times a year.

The Petroleum Council advises to the Minister and the Petroleum Commissioner in various topics, including but not limited to granting of petroleum rights and the execution of various administrative measures such as transfer of ownerships in petroleum rights.

Further information on the Petroleum Council and its resolutions in the Ministry’s main website.